A Break in the Silence

I’ve been quiet lately (probably to the enjoyment of your Facebook feeds). I’m not entirely sure why – I’m not necessarily bored with blogging yet. I’ve got tons of feedback, reconnected with some friends who I haven’t talk to in a while, and it’s even helped me sort out some of the crazy in my head. Even if I can’t fix it all myself, getting it out there, on a page, helps Lovely Wife talk me through some of the crazy even more.

I don’t want this to just a complaining blog – blah blah, I’m crazy, blah blah, I can’t see, blah blah, why won’t the wolves stop chasing me? I started talking about food before, but all of a sudden, things started wandering away. I think I’ll talk about food tonight, and hopefully that makes up for me being a bit of a mute lately.

Sitting in Denton, having listened to “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” for the 30th time today, I saw a Facebook posting from Cane Rosso, a Neapolitan pizza place in Dallas. This restaurant used to be one guy, a pick up truck, and a wood fire oven that he’d drag around to various locations in the area. They finally decided to camp out at a new spot in Dallas, and I hadn’t had a chance to get there yet.

So, after listening to the last oboe squawk through it, I saw this:

New Dessert Pizza: The Pinche Giulio: vanilla bean marscapone, nutella, and nutella in the crust! Take that Pizza Hut!

Does that not sound like a challenge to you?

I jokingly sent it to Lovely Wife, and I get this e-mail back:

Want to pick me up, go eat that, then go home and sleep until tomorrow? 🙂

Deal. I went to pick her up, and we chowed down on 2 pizzas – one for dinner, and one for dessert. I consider that to be a light dinner.

The Delia – Fresh mozzarella, roasted grape tomatoes, spicy bacon marmalade, and arugula. Spicy bacon marmalade. I don’t think you understand. This is as dangerous as when they weaponized anthrax. They’ve made bacon spreadable. Future historians will mark this as the beginning of a Golden Age of humanity.

The aforementioned vanilla bean marscapone and Nutella pizza. I didn’t get to take too many pictures before we scarfed it.

It’s 10pm, and while Lovely Wife has already crashed, I’m still up, which means I didn’t necessarily hold up my part of the deal. I have to admit, though, that a stupidly decadent pizza (or two) at the end of a Thursday is a great way to set up a weekend.

Seriously – bacon marmalade.

This entry was posted in Food, Stuff I Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

