Get Up and Go

I’m not a morning person. I can’t leap out of bed, brush my teeth, and get out the door. In my brain, waking up is a long, drawn out process, with at least 30 minutes of sitting in bed, contemplating getting up. I realize that this requires me to actually get up earlier than I need to, but let’s not try to pretend that anything I do makes real sense.

A lot of the “productivity” blogs I frequent (but no longer save) always mention getting up, having your coffee, and before you do anything else, do one productive thing. Pre-email and pre-Facebook, you should do at least one productive task. Considering that I check my e-mail on my iPhone before I actually get out of bed or turn the lights on, I’m not sure how realistic this is for me. Hell, before I get out of bed, I generally have the day’s news and drama. And that’s before the coffee.

Lovely Wife is the opposite. On weekday mornings, she’s a machine. Get up, have breakfast, watch 10 minutes of the news, go shower, get dressed, out the door. Bam, bam, bam. On weekends, it’s the same thing – get up, get dressed, go work out. Bam.

I am like a newborn animal every morning. Squinty eyes, making bizarre noises, exploring the unfamiliar world. She just (10am) let the door to go to her spin class, which I had made grand claims about attending with her. I, on the other hand, woke up about half an hour ago, felt like my brain was wrapped in a wool sweater, and stumbled out here to read blogs, check the news, and recheck my e-mail (because something could have happened in the past 10 minutes, dontcha know).

Even right now, in the middle of typing this post, I got mildly distracted and popped open Facebook. If I can’t find enough focus to crank out over 500 words for you to read, why should you find enough focus to read it? (Don’t answer that. Keep reading. My ego needs it.) All of that distractability and crazy seems to get magnified within the first hour of waking up.

So wake up earlier?

I keep thinking forward to my summer, especially the parts in which I’m going to have just a long swath of unstructured free time. Given my usual habits, what I’d do is stay up till 3am playing video games or screwing around online, and then wake up right before noon. Wash, rinse, repeat ad infinitum. Unfortunately, given that one of my primary goals is to spend time with Lovely Wife, I should be up and working as much as possible while she’s out bringing in the money for us. That means getting up at the usual time (6:30-7), even during the summer, if I want to achieve this goal.

Writing this (admittedly thin) post is my first step in getting up and doing something. I didn’t make it to the gym with Lovely Wife. Fine. But I did write over 5o0 words, and I’m going to meditate and clean the kitchen a bit. It’s not productive in the greater sense, but it is something.

Maybe I’ll get to the gym or go for a run tomorrow morning. After I’ve had my coffee.

This entry was posted in My Crazy, Working out. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

