100 Days till 27: 70 Days Left

If I hard (smartly) posted this yesterday, it would consisted of a congratulatory pat on the back.  “Good Job,” I’d say to myself, “you got most of what you wanted to accomplish done. Go hit the showers, champ.” Today, though, I feel like I’ve had all of that momentum zapped again. I’m going to chalk it up to the weather being miserable and having several private lessons cancel on me at the last minute. I do enjoy a little extra free time, but having too much free time always messes me up (something we’ve already covered).

Let’s recap my goals for last week:

  1. Academic – Add 5 new research ideas to my potential research list.
  2. Musical – Practice at least 30 minutes on my jury piece each day this week.
  3. Social – Go out to one new place this week with Lovely Wife.
  4. Physical – Go out running at least 3 days this week.
  5. Mental – Meditate for at least 10 minutes 3 days this week.

Academic goal? Check. Well, sort of. They weren’t great ideas, but in the need to silence my self critic, I’m going to call that one a win.

Musical goal? This, I totally did, but probably more out of self-panic than anything else. If there’s one thing I hate more than being unprepared, it’s being unprepared in front of an audience (even if it’s only four people).

Social goal? Absolutely. We hit up a new place for brunch Sunday and went wine tasting at a new location north of Frisco. Nothing mind-blowing, but still, we went somewhere new. I might have even had a small conversation with someone I’d never met before. She was pouring me wine, but there was idle chit chat. That’s better than most weeks.

Physical goal? Nope. I completely screwed this one up, and I don’t really have a good explanation as for why. A while  ago, I’d hurt my shin pretty badly while running (stupid shin splints). I found a few methods to correct them (various stretches, taping, compression), but I’ve yet to put any of them into use. Like most fragile, new habits, once you go off the rains, you go off of the rails. Considering I’m running a 5K on Saturday and I haven’t been out in almost a week and a half, it may be time to start that up again.

As an aside, I think my biggest problem with my physical goal is that if I’m not feeling 105% good, I won’t go. If I feel like anything’s wrong with me, I push the eject button. Stomach a little rumbly? Nope. Eye twitching slightly? Gotta stay in. Foot fell asleep? No good reason to wake it.

Mental goal? Sort of. I did meditate, just not three times this week. It’s amazing that in all of the free time I seem to accumulate, I’d rather constantly fill my brain with random, useless input than spend 10 minutes trying to calm my mind.

So, I’ll call the 3.5/5, or a C for all of my educator friends out there (no grade inflation here, I’ll tell you what).

Time to craft some goals for the coming week.

  1. Academic – Download 5 new research articles and summarize them.
  2. Musical – Post jury, keep practicing at least 30 minutes every other day.
  3. Social – Go out to another new place.
  4. Physical – Go out running at least twice before the 5K on Saturday.
  5. Mental – Meditate for at least 10 minutes 3 days this week.

For those of you going, “Pshhh, I could do that with one brain tied behind my back,” or however anatomy is supposed to work – this is in addition to all of the crazy stuff I have. It’s the week before finals, and I have papers due, finals to take, finals to write, papers to grade, blah blah blah. I’m not going to list every academic fire I have to put out – this is something in addition to what I’m already planning to do.

New week, new goals. I’ll report back at the end, and you can judge me from there.

This entry was posted in 100 Days and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

