100 Days till 27: 56 Days Left

Shaking off a pretty good weekend, I got up this morning and realized I had the crazy, barren landscape of summer in front of me. As much as I complain about my schedules during the year, the summer is always pretty awful. This year, at least, I come prepared. I’ve got my plan, my brain, and the plus of not having fallen face-first into the end of the semester like I usually manage to do. Hell, I even turned in my grades more than 12 hours in advance of the deadline. That seems like a win!

Last week’s goals:

  1. Academic – Come up with a concrete list of goals (and steps to achieve them) for the summer.
  2. Musical – Practice 30 minutes every other day, and finish 5 new reeds.
  3. Social – Finish planning our Eurovision party for Saturday.
  4. Physical – Do something physical at least 3 times this week (not necessarily running).
  5. Mental – Meditate for at least 10 minutes 3 days this week and go to yoga once.

Academic? Win! I can’t believe I actually got this done. I have a list! I have a schedule! I have a concrete list of steps that I can possibly achieve! Pick yourselves off of the floor, ladies and gentlemen, shit just got real.

Musical? Oops. Yeah, I don’t think I’ve actually seem my bassoon in a week. On The Schedule, though, I have time to at least look at my bassoon each day. If I do half of that, I’ll be way ahead of the game.

Social? WHOO! I’ll post a party recap later this week (and, of course, I completely forgot to take pictures), but it was a great time. Bad European pop always makes me so happy.

Physical? Meh. After last week’s 5k, I sort of went off the rails and decided the couch was a much better option. On the other hand, I went to yoga twice last week, and worked out once, so I guess that counts as a win. Status upgraded: Barely Passing.

Mental? Yup! Armed with my new mantra, “progress is incremental,” meditating for 10 minute sprints is getting better. I don’t get nearly as distracted with my own crazy ass thoughts.

Score this week? 4/5, or a B-. Hey, that’s better than the last 2 weeks of Cs. At my university, since we don’t use pluses or minuses, that would be a solid B.

This week:

  1. Academic – Follow my work schedule, getting at least 1 hour of real research work done for the next 4 days (Tues-Fri).
  2. Musical – Follow my practice schedule, getting bassoon time in at least two more times this week.
  3. Social – Go out to a new place this week.
  4. Physical – Follow my work out schedule, doing at least 30 minutes every day this week (except for Wednesday).
  5. Mental – Meditate for at least 10 minutes 3 days this week and go to yoga once.

I keep referring to the schedule in this thing – well, I’m going to create a separate page for the schedule that’ll be permanent on the home page, but I’ll list it here as well.

  • 9:00-11:00 ~ Research/Academic time
  • 11:00-12:00 ~ Work out
  • 12:00-1:00 ~ Lunch
  • 1:00-2:00 ~ Bassoon things, including reeds
  • 2:00-3:00 ~ Housekeeping, errands
  • 3:00-5:00 ~ Chilling
  • 5:00-??? ~ Wife/social/anything else time.

If you catch me around doing something that I shouldn’t be doing according to the schedule, feel free to chastise me appropriately. And now that I have a little more time, I promise to write real blog posts, and not just these crappy, unfunny accountability posts.

Still, yell at me.

This entry was posted in 100 Days and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

