100 Days till 27: 49 Days Left

This has been a crazy, fun, sad, desperate, weird, bizarre week. Truly, a fitting beginning to summer. While my original plans from last week didn’t quite work out like I’d hoped they would, I have made some progress. At this point, I count waking up at the same time every day as a win. Sad that it’s gotten to that point, eh? Meh, I’m giving myself a pass for last week if only because it was my first week off. Yeah, that’s the ticket.

Ramble ramble.

Last week’s goals:

  1. Academic – Follow my work schedule, getting at least 1 hour of real research work done for the next 4 days (Tues-Fri).
  2. Musical – Follow my practice schedule, getting bassoon time in at least two more times this week.
  3. Social – Go out to a new place this week.
  4. Physical – Follow my work out schedule, doing at least 30 minutes every day this week (except for Wednesday).
  5. Mental – Meditate for at least 10 minutes 3 days this week and go to yoga once.

Academic? Meh. Of those days, I think I got real, meaningful work done on Wednesday on Thursday. Tuesday, I’m not sure what happened, but it definitely wasn’t work. And Friday was Friday. I give myself 1/2 a point for those two days.

Musical? Complete and utter failure. I think I just played a few notes when I taught lessons on Tuesday, but other than that? Not at all. Definitely going to need to practice some before my gig starts on June 13.

Social? Winning.

Physical? Uhhhhhh. I definitely fell off the band wagon. I went today, though, so go me. I did try just a little bit of P90X, and I quickly realized that I’m not of a minimal strength level to even begin to attempt that. If I can’t do 3 push ups, I’m not going to be able to do 30 minutes of them.

Mental? Meh. I missed yoga last week due to some scheduling craziness that I didn’t expect, but I did meditate. So points for that?

2/5. Oh, sweet God, it’s like the midterms from hell. That’s a big, fat F. I’m not going to dwell on this, but I’m not going to make excuses either – I had goals, and I did other things. Were they better or worse than what I was supposed to do? Probably worse. Pretty sure watching shit tons of Stargate on Netflix wasn’t on my todo list.

Nope, not on there.

This week, more of the same.

This week:

  1. Academic – Follow my work schedule, getting at least 1 hour of real research work done every day this week.
  2. Musical – Follow my practice schedule, getting bassoon time in at least two more times this week.
  3. Social – Go out to a new place this week.
  4. Physical – Follow my work out schedule, doing at least 30 minutes every day this week (except for Wednesday).
  5. Mental – Meditate for at least 10 minutes 3 days this week and go to yoga once.

I know it’s not very interesting, but until I can get my stuff together, I’m going to keep it simple. I’m aiming for an A this week – that’s a big jump from an F, but I’m pretty sure I can manage it.

If you want to know the kind of schedule I’m keeping, you can find it here.  I’m not nearly as good at keeping an airtight schedule as I’d like to believe I am, but hey, it’s worth trying, right?

This entry was posted in 100 Days and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

