Wading into the stream…

So, today is less of a coherent blog post, and more just small vignettes about random things I’ve been thinking about. Consider this like a dip into my stream of consciousness, which in turn, is like that creepy tunnel from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.

I feel like a fawn when I’m bicycling – like Bambi crossing the ice. I’m wobbling and about ready to fall down at any given moment. When I get going though, I have these incredible moments of clarity. It’s like Nirvana can be found at about 10mph in a parking lot before I realize I’m about to tip over. If nothing else, I like the way the bikes look in our apartment. It makes me feel like I’m an urban worker instead of a suburban sprawl commuter.

With my officially well-stocked bar open, I’ve been trying my hand at perfecting the Sazerac. Getting the balance on this thing is tough, and I can’t experiment more than once or twice in an evening without getting too tipsy to care what it tastes like. Plus, there’s always the danger of keeping a bottle of absinthe around. Though it originated in New Orleans, I’ve had so many in Dallas (and done in different ways), that it’s tough to not only make something that’s true to the original, but also tastes good to me.

Speaking of experiments, through our rockin’ CSA (which I haven’t talked about in ages – should do that), we’ve been getting pints and pints of blueberries. My tastiest experiment with those has been something called Blueberry Boy Bait, due to its ability to sway young men to the side of a lady. In our more gender-normative times, though, I’d argue that it could be used to sway anyone – Lovely Wife has definitely banned me from making it again so she won’t eat half a pan. It’s like blueberry coffee cake, but with less of a topping. Definitely reminds me of the HOP Blueberry Bread, but not chronically undercooked and chewy.

While I’ve upgraded my laptop, I downgraded the amount of screen real estate that I’ve had. That’s fine, because I’ve been using a second monitor to keep my information at my fingertips. If you’ve never tried a dual monitor set up, then you have no clue what you’re missing. It’s like never having had fresh strawberries, seen live opera, or had a well mixed Old Fashioned; you didn’t know your life needed it, but now that you’ve had it, you can’t live without it. Plus, it makes me feel like a combination of Tom Cruise in Minority Report and a random crew member on Star Trek.

Ok, maybe not that cool.

Anyone else psyched about Nickelodeon bringing back shows the 90s? If you haven’t caught it yet, TeenNICK (which is one of their spin off, above channel 100 things) is going to be showing classic stuff between the hours of midnight and 4am. I guess they assume we’re all insomniacs, night-shift workers, or unemployed. The first shows will be All That, Clarissa Explains it All, Doug (REAL DOUG, not ABC Doug), and Kenan & Kel. I may go out and buy a 2 liter of orange soda to celebrate. I realize it’s on a channel no one watches anyways, and they’re basically cashing in on stuff they’ve already produced to get new eyes, but until they release all of Hey Dude on DVD, this is my option.

This is sort of where I’m at right now. I realize this is a bit all over the place, and if I’m honest, I’ve realized that some of these will make good posts in their own at some point.

It’s a Tuesday on a random afternoon in July – what else am I supposed to be thinking about?

This entry was posted in Food, My Crazy, Stuff I Love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wading into the stream…

  1. Rory the Bunny says:

    Puppies and moving! We are moving in 2 weeks and getting a puppy in 3 or 4 weeks. I am having trouble focusing with all the excitement. I have a super easy blueberry cobbler recipe.

  2. SNslim says:

    I want to meet the puppy.

Leave a comment